Sharks change two for Jaguares

Stephan Lewies and JP Pietersen have returned to the Sharks' starting lineup for their Super Rugby match against the Jaguares at Kings Park on Saturday.

Lewies, fit again after a long-term knee injury, replaces Hyron Andrews at No 5 lock, while Pietersen comes in for Lwazi Mvovo, who suffered an ankle injury against the Kings.

Sharks director of rugby Gary Gold is aware of the challenge the Jaguares – Argentina's Test team in all but name – will pose.

'They are a brilliant team full of internationals. Many of these guys are hugely experienced and had good success at the World Cup. Last week against the Cheetahs, this Argentinian side showed that they have adapted well to the competition.

'We’ve had a good week and are preparing to take on a full battle of international players and we’re excited about the challenge ahead. This match is really going to test us to see how far we’ve come this year,' he said.

Sharks – 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 André Esterhuizen, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Joe Pietersen, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Daniel du Preez, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Stephan Lewies, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Beast Mtawarira (c).
Subs: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Hyron Andrews, 20 Philip van der Walt, 21 Michael Claassens, 22 Garth April, 23 S’bura Sithole.

Super Rugby teams (Round 2)

Photo: John Davids/Photosport

Post by