Sharks XV comeback floors Kings

The Sharks XV claimed a 34-26 bonus-point win over the EP Kings in their Currie Cup qualifier in Port Elizabeth on Friday.

Flyhalf Garrick Mattheus starred for the hosts, scoring 21 points, but it wasn’t enough as the visitors fought back in the second half to end their two-match losing streak.

The Kings held an early 13-3 advantage after Mattheus slotted two penalties and scored a superb solo try after gathering his own kick ahead.

Tries by flank Khaya Majola and lock Ruan Botha got the Sharks within striking distance, but Mattheus made sure his team led 19-15 early in the second half with penalties either side of the break.

A yellow card to Kings hooker Martin Bezuidenhout for repeated infringements aided the Sharks’ cause as they scored two tries through fullback Alrin Eksteen and flyhalf Heimar Williams against 14 men to lead 27-19.

Kings scrumhalf Franswa Ueckermann crossed for a converted effort to make it a one-point game, but winger Wandile Mjekevu scored the Sharks' bonus-point try in the 75th minute to secure the win.

EP Kings – Tries: Franswa Ueckermann, Garrick Mattheus. Conversions: Mattheus (2). Penalties: Mattheus (4).
Sharks XV – Tries: Alrin Eksteen, Heimar Williams, Khaya Majola, Ruan Botha, Wandile Mjekevu. Conversions: Marcel Coetzee (3). Penalty: Coetzee.

EP Kings – 15 Michael Brink, 14 Anthi Mayinje, 13 Somila Jho, 12 Riaan Esterhuizen, 11 Lindelwe Zungu,10 Garrick Mattheus, 9 Franswa Ueckermann, 8 Jacques Engelbrecht, 7 Sintu Manjezi (c), 6 JP Jonck, 5 Cornell Hess, 4 Tazz Fuzani, 3 Louis Albertse, 2 Martin Bezuidenhout, 1 Liam Hendricks.
Subs: 16 Warrick Venter, 17 Vukile Sofisa, 18 Stephan Zaayman, 19 Lusanda Badiyana, 20 Rouche Nel, 21 Sphu Msutwana, 22 Ivan-John du Preez.

Sharks XV – 15 Alrin Eksteen, 14 Wandile Mjekevu, 13 S’bura Sithole, 12 Nkululeko Marwana, 11 Marcel Coetzee, 10 Heimar Williams, 9 Hanco Venter, 8 Tera Mtembu, 7 Christiaan de Bruin, 6 Khaya Majola (c), 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Ruan Botha, 3 Gerhardus Engelbrecht, 2 Chilliboy Ralepelle, 1 Juan Schoeman.
Subs: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 Ruan Kramer, 19 Wian Vosloo, 20 Francois Kleinhans, 21 Dylan Marcus, 22 Kevin Elder.

Photo: Steve Haag/Gallo Images

Post by

Mariette Adams