Sharks scoop up French star

The Sharks have signed French international Clément Poitrenaud on a one-year deal.

Poitrenaud, who has been capped 47 times for France and featured at the 2003 and 2007 World Cups, is effectively a replacement for Willie le Roux, who is set to join Wasps after a solitary Super Rugby season with the Durban-based side.

Besides the recruitment of 34-year-old Poitrenaud, the Sharks also confirmed on Monday that they had signed prop Enoch Mnyaka from the EP Kings (two years), Stormers loose forward Jacques Vermeulen (three years), Kings centre Jeremy Ward (two years), Namibia/Leopards centre Johan Deysel (two years) and Stormers wing Kobus van Wyk (three years).

Commenting on the new signings, coach Robert du Preez said:  'The new players who have joined us will ensure that we have much-needed depth in certain positions. We have a young and exciting team who are building for the future.'

Meanwhile, Odwa Ndungane and Rowan Gouws have extended their contracts with the Sharks for another year, while André Esterhuizen, Benhard Janse van Rensburg, Curwin Bosch, Franco Marais, Jean Droste, John-Hubert Meyer, Marius Louw, Neil Maritz, Rhyno Smith, Stephan Lewies and Tristan Blewett all signed on for another two years. Hyron Andrews, Mzamo Majola, Sibusiso Nkosi and Thomas du Toit have signed three-year contract extensions.

The Sharks also announced that Wandile Mjekevu and Neil Maritz will join the Southern Kings on loan for the 2017 Super Rugby season.

Sharks pre-season squad

Forwards: Beast Mtawarira, Chiliboy Ralepele, Coenie Oosthuizen, Dan du Preez, Enoch Mnyaka, Etienne Oosthuizen, Franco Marais, Francois Kleinhans, Giant Mtyanda, Hyron Andrews, Jacques Vermeulen, Jean Deysel, Jean Droste, John-Hubert Meyer, Jean-Luc du Preez, Juan Schoeman, Keegan Daniel, Khaya Majola, Lourens Adriaanse, Mzamo Majola, Philip van der Walt, Ruan Botha, Stephan Coetzee, Stephan Lewies, Tera Mtembu, Thomas du Toit

Backs: Andre Esterhuizen, Benhard Janse van Rensburg, Cobus Reinach, Curwin Bosch, Clemont Poitrenaud, Garth April, Ilunga Mukendi, Inn Radebe, Jeremy Ward, Johan Deysel, Kobus van Wyk, Lukhanyo Am, Lwazi Mvovo, Marius Louw, Michael Claasens, Odwa Ndungane, Pat Lambie, Rowan Gouw, Rhyno Smit, S’bura Sithole, Sibusiso Nkosi, Tristan Blewett

Photo: Warren Little/Getty Images

Post by

Craig Lewis