Smith back for Landers

Ben Smith has recovered from a concussion to be named in the Highlanders starting lineup for Friday's clash with the Sharks.

The fullback picked up the injury against the Force, but has been declared fit after two weeks' rest. 

Matt Faddes moves across to the right wing, with Jack Wilson starting on the left. Jason Emery will make his first start for the team at inside centre, with Rob Thompson dropping out of the match 23. 

Up front, Ash Dixon packs down next to Josh Hohneck, with Tom Franklin returning to the second row. Elliot Dixon has recovered from a head injury and rejoins the loose trio. Alex Ainley and Craig Millar are on the bench after impressing at club level. 

Highlanders – 15 Ben Smith (c), 14 Matt Faddes, 13 Malakai Fekitoa, 12 Jason Emery, 11 Jack Wilson, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Liam Squire, 7 Shane Christie (c), 6 Elliot Dixon, 5 Joe Wheeler, 4 Tom Franklin, 3 Josh Hohneck, 2 Ash Dixon, 1 Daniel Lienert-Brown.
Subs: 16 Liam Coltman, 17 Craig Millar, 18 Ross Geldenhuys, 19 Alex Ainley, 20 Dan Pryor, 21 Fumiaki Tanaka, 22 Hayden Parker, 23 Patrick Osborne.

Super Rugby teams (Round 9)

Photo: Rob Jefferies/Getty Images