Snyman to captain Blitzboks

Philip Snyman will lead the Blitzboks in the Wellington and Sydney legs of the World Rugby Sevens Series.

Snyman takes over the leadership role in the absence of Kyle Brown, who has been left out as precaution for a niggling shoulder injury. SA Sevens Academy player Sandile Ngcobo has been drafted into the squad and is in line to make his Blitzboks debut if he plays Down Under. 

In the only other change to the group that featured at the Cape Town Sevens, Carel du Preez comes in for Dylan Sage. 

Coach Neil Powell says his team will focus on consistency. 

'In the past we struggled to regain our best form after playing in Dubai and in our home tournament, so our mental focus will be a key aspect for us on this tour. We are building towards the Olympics Games, so it is important that we perform well in the World Series,' said Powell.

'These two tournaments will offer us another opportunity to rotate some players and introduce a new one. Stix [Sandile] has been knocking on the door for a while now and I know he is excited and very keen to play on the World Series circuit,' he added. 

Blitzboks squad for Cape Town – Chris Dry, Philip Snyman (c), Francois Hougaard, Kwagga Smith, Carel du Preez, Sandile Ngcobo, Cheslin Kolbe, Ryno Benjamin, Justin Geduld, Rosco Speckman, Seabelo Senatla, Juan de Jongh.

Post by