Solitary change for Western Province

Johnny Kotze replaces the injured Juan de Jongh at outside centre in the only change to Western Province’s starting lineup for Saturday’s clash against the Blue Bulls.

Kotze made eight Vodacom Super Rugby starts on the wing for the Stormers earlier this season, but this will be his first Currie Cup start, having played off the bench in Province’s season opener.

‘It was always our intention to get Johnny into the No 13 jersey at some point, but, of course, it has now been necessitated by Juan’s injury,’ coach John Dobson commented.

‘We certainly are very excited about this opportunity for Johnny – he is a skilful and level-headed player and I have no doubt he will flourish at this level.’

There are three changes to the Province bench this week. Springbok squad member Scarra Ntubeni replaces Marius Fourie as the hooker replacement, Chris van Zyl comes in for fellow-lock Jan de Klerk and Huw Jones takes over from Kobus van Wyk as the specialist centre replacement.

Western Province – 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Dillyn Leyds, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Jaco Taute, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr (c), 7 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 6 Rynhardt Elstadt, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Oli Kebble.
Subs: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Alistair Vermaak, 18 Chris van Zyl, 19 Chris Cloete, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Kurt Coleman, 22 Huw Jones, 23 Charlie van Jaarsveld.

Photo: Chris Ricco/BackpagePix

Post by

Craig Lewis