Sonny Bill at 12 for Chiefs

Sonny Bill Williams will play his first Vodacom Super Rugby match since 2012 for the Chiefs against the Blues on Saturday.

Williams spent two years with the Sydney Roosters in the NRL before returning to union in a bid to make the All Blacks 2015 World Cup squad.

In the front row, hooker Hika Elliot makes his return to Super Rugby and is joined by props Pauliasi Manu and Ben Tameifuna.

Pre-season captain Matt Symons will continue to lead the side from lock and will be joined by Michael Fitzgerald, who is in his fourth season with the Chiefs.

There are two debutants in loose forwards Johan Bardoul and Maama Vaipulu.

Brad Weber will start the match at scrumhalf with Baby Black Damian Mckenzie at flyhalf.

Chiefs – 15 Tom Marshall, 14 Tim Nanai-Williams, 13 Charlie Ngatai, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 James Lowe, 10 Damian McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Maama Vaipulu, 7 Sam Cane, 6 Johan Bardoul, 5 Mike Fitzgerald, 4 Matt Symons (c), 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Pauliasi Manu
Subs: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Jamie Mackintosh, 18 Siate Tokolahi, 19 Michael Allardice, 20 Tevita Koloamatangi, 21 Augustine Pulu, 22 Marty McKenzie, 23 Bryce Heem.

Super Rugby teams (Round 1)

Photo: Mark Kolbe/Getty Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt