SP to start for Bulls

SP Marais will start at fullback when the Bulls take on the Kings in Port Elizabeth on Saturday.

Marais joined the Bulls on a short-term deal after failing to receive a contract from the Kings earlier this year, and will now run out against his former team, with Jesse Kriel moving from fullback to centre after an injury to Burger Odendaal.

Kriel resumes his position at 13, with Jan Serfontein moving to the inside berth left vacant by Odendaal. Jesse Kriel’s twin brother, Dan, moves on to the bench and could make his Super Rugby debut should he take to the field.

The Bulls have also lost Rudy Paige to injury, and as a result Piet van Zyl will start at No 9 for the first time this year, with Ivan van Zyl remaining on the bench as back-up scrumhalf.

In changes to the pack, Arno Botha returns to the No 8 position, replacing Nic de Jager, while Lappies Labuschagne is back in the starting lineup as he replaces Roelof Smit, who moves to the bench.

Up front, Trevor Nyakane will start at loosehead prop in place of Lizo Gqoboka.

Bulls – 15 SP Marais, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Arno Botha, 7 Jannes Kirsten, 6 Lappies Labuschagne, 5 RG Snyman, 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Adriaan Strauss (c), 1 Trevor Nyakane.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Pierre Schoeman, 18 Werner Kruger, 19 Marvin Orie, 20 Roelof Smit, 21 Ivan van Zyl, 22 Francois Brummer, 23 Dan Kriel.

Super Rugby teams (Round 7)

Photo: Lee Warren/Gallo Images

Post by