Springboks drawn with Ireland, Scotland for 2023

The Springboks have been placed in Pool B alongside Ireland, Scotland, Asia/Pacific 1 and Europe 2 for the 2023 World Cup in France.

As the defending champions and No 1 ranked team in the world, South Africa are one of five teams in Pool B for the 2023 tournament, along with two more qualifying teams, from the Asia/Pacific qualifier, and Europe.

The pool allocation draw was completed in Paris on Monday, and broadcast live across the world with all teams participating virtually.

The Springboks have never been drawn in a RWC pool with Ireland and will be defending a proud history as they have only lost three pool matches in seven tournaments – against England (2003), Japan (2015) and New Zealand (2019).

The Boks have twice been in the same pool as Scotland, in 1999 and 2015. Since their first RWC participation in 1995, the Springboks have played 43 RWC games, winning 36 and losing seven. That winning tally, including three RWC final triumphs, give the Springboks an impressive win percentage of 83.72%.

Rugby World Cup 2023 Pools

Pool A:

New Zealand, France, Italy, Americas 1, Africa 1

Pool B:

South Africa, Ireland, Scotland, Asia/Pacific 1, Europe 2

Pool C:

Wales, Australia, Fiji, Europe 1, Final Qualifier Winner

Pool D:

England, Japan, Argentina, Oceania 1, Americas 2

Springbok RWC Statistics

  • Debut: vs Australia on 25 May 1995
  • Tournament appearances: Seven (1995 to 2019)
  • Record: Played 43; Won 36; Lost 7
  • Best placing: Champions in 1995, 2007 and 2019
  • Points for/against: 1,512/553
  • Tries for/against: 174/37
  • Most RWC appearances: Schalk Burger – 20
  • Top RWC points-scorer: Handre Pollard – 162
  • Top RWC try-scorer: Bryan Habana – 15

Photo: Gavin Barker/BackpagePix

Post by

Dylan Jack