Stander back to face Boks

Joe Schmidt has made six personnel changes and one positional switch to Ireland's starting XV for the third Test in Port Elizabeth.

In the pack, CJ Stander returns from his one-week suspension to start at blindside flank, while Jordi Murphy is back at openside. Stander's inclusion sees Iain Henderson move back to No 4 lock with Quinn Roux losing his place in the team.

The only change to the front row comes on the tighthead side of the scrum, where Mike Ross is preferred ahead of Tadgh Furlong.

Fullback Jared Payne has been ruled out with injury and his place is taken by Tiernan O'Halloran. Left wing Keith Earls returns to action at the expense of Craig Gilroy and in the midfield Luke Marshall starts ahead of the injured Robbie Henshaw at outside centre.

The uncapped Matt Healy is drafted on to the bench as fullback cover. Veteran scrumhalf Eoin Reddan, who has announced his retirement from rugby, is also on the bench and will play his last professional game if he comes on against South Africa.

Ireland – 15 Tiernan O'Halloran, 14 Andrew Trimble, 13 Luke Marshall,12 Stuart Olding, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Jordi Murphy, 6 CJ Stander, 5 Devin Toner, 4 Iain Henderson, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Rory Best (c), 1 Jack McGrath.
Subs: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Finlay Bealham, 18 Tadhg Furlong, 19 Ultan Dillane, 20 Rhys Ruddock, 21 Eoin Reddan, 22 Ian Madigan, 23 Matt Healy.

Springbok team

Photo: Brendan Moran/Getty Images

Post by

Mariette Adams