Steyn to start for Bulls

Morne Steyn and Lizo Gqoboka will start in two of several changes to the Vodacom Bulls side to face the Sharks on Friday.

Coach Jake White continues rotating his squad as he named the group that will travel to Durban to play in their final Preparation Series warm-up match.

Springbok Nizaam Carr continues to wear the captain’s armband and will lead a forward pack that has significant changes.

Blitzbok Tim Agaba comes into the starting lineup at blindside flank with Werner Gouws shifting to openside.

Janko Swanepoel will wear the No 5 jersey while there is a completely new front row in Springboks Marcel van der Merwe and Gqoboka, while Schalk Erasmus gets another opportunity to shine in the No 2 jersey.

Richard Kriel (fullback), Madosh Tambwe (right wing) and Zak Burger (scrumhalf) retain their spots from last week’s thrilling win over the Stormers.

A new centre partnership will front up to the Durbanites with Marnus Potgieter and Dawid Kellerman entrusted with the responsibility, while Diego Appollis will be on the hunt for tries on the left wing.

Lastly, veteran Steyn returns to add valuable experience in a youthful backline.

‘We have our last warm-up this week and we could not ask for better opposition in the Sharks. It’s our first meeting since our Carling Currie Cup final battle and they’ll want to get one over the champions,’ said White.

‘We’ve continued in our rotation with the focus being on gaining experience throughout our larger squad. The Sharks have a strong squad which ultimately provides the foundation for another tough encounter, but the gents are more than ready to throw their bodies on the line to secure a victory,’ he added.

Kick-off is scheduled for 7pm with the match being televised live on SuperSport.

Vodacom Bulls – 15 Richard Kriel, 14 Madosh Tambwe, 13 Marnus Potgieter, 12 Dawid Kellerman, 11 Diego Appollis, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Zak Burger, 8 Nizaam Carr (c), 7 Tim Agaba, 6 Werner Gouws, 5 Janko Swanepoel, 4 Jan Uys, 3 Marcel van der Merwe, 2 Schalk Erasmus, 1 Lizo Gqoboka.
Subs: 16 Janco Uys, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Mornay Smith, 19 Raynard Roets, 20 WJ Steenkamp, 21 Keagan Johannes, 22 Clinton Swart, 23 Jay-Cee Nel, 24 Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 25 Reinhardt Ludwig, 26 Bernard van der Linde, 27 Niel Beukes.

Post by

Craig Lewis