Stormers outlast Bulls

The Stormers put five tries past the Vodacom Bulls in their 33-28 win at the Cape Town Stadium on Sunday. JON CARDINELLI reports.

Nine tries were scored over the course of this action-packed pre-season encounter. The Cape Town Stadium was at capacity and the partisan Stormers fans found their voice each time one of their heroes crossed the whitewash.

Scarra Ntubeni battled to find his jumpers early on, and the likes of Duane Vermeulen and Lood de Jager did well to disrupt the Stormers lineout. Ntubeni had a hand in a wonderful try, though, scooping up a loose ball and setting up Seabelo Senatla for a free run at the line.

ALSO READ: Lions scrap past Sharks

The Bulls continued to apply the pressure at the set pieces. The Stormers defence failed to stop Handré Pollard and Warrick Gelant from breaking through to score. Duncan Matthews’ charge down the right-hand flank culminated in a try for Ivan van Zyl and ensured that the Bulls trailed the Stormers by only 26-21 at the break.

Both coaches opted to make mass changes at the start of the second stanza. The defence was of a higher standard in the final 40 minutes and only two tries were scored.

Paul Schoeman powered over from close range, and Manie Libbok – on for Pollard at No 10 – kicked the Bulls into the lead.

Damian Willemse provided some impetus for the hosts, taking play deep into Bulls territory. The Stormers eventually crashed over through Chris van Zyl in the 74th minute to move into a winning position.

The two rivals will meet in the first round of the Super Rugby tournament at Loftus Versfeld on 16 February.

Stormers – Tries: Seabelo Senatla, Josh Stander, SP Marais, Juarno Augustus, Chris van Zyl. Conversions: Marais (2), Stander, Damian Willemse.
Bulls –
Tries: Handré Pollard, Ivan van Zyl, Warrick Gelant, Paul Schoeman. Conversions: Pollard (3), Manie Libbok.

Stormers – 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Dan Kriel, 11 SP Marais, 10 Joshua Stander, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Cobus Wiese, 6 Jaco Coetzee, 5 Chris van Zyl (c), 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Michael Kumbirai, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Ali Vermaak.
Subs: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Corne Fourie, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 Ernst van Rhyn, 20 JD Schickerling, 21 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 22 Kobus van Dyk, 23 Herschel Jantjies, 24 Damian Willemse, 25 Sergeal Petersen, 26 Dan du Plessis.

Bulls – 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Jade Stighling, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Duncan Matthews, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Jannes Kirsten, 6 Paul Schoeman, 5 Lood de Jager (c), 4 Eli Snyman, 3 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Schalk Brits, 1 Lizo Gqoboka.
Subs: 16 Corniel Els, 17 Simphiwe Matanzina, 18 Dayan van der Westhuizen, 19 Ruan Nortje, 20 Ruan Steenkamp, 21 Thembelani Bholi, 22 Embrose Papier, 23 Manie Libbok, 24 Dylan Sage, 25 Johnny Kotze, 26 Divan Rossouw.

Photo: Gordon Arons/Gallo Images

Post by