Stormers rest big guns

Nizaam Carr will skipper a second-string Stormers side against the Sharks in Durban on Saturday.

Coach Allister Coetzee has made 14 changes to his starting lineup, with Carr the lone survivor after the 19-19 draw with the Lions at Newlands last week. 

Robert du Preez will make his Vodacom Super Rugby debut after he was named at fullback, completing an all-new back-three with wings Johnny Kotze and Pat Howard. In the midfield Huw Jones and Jaco Taute replace Juan de Jongh and Damian de Allende, with Kurt Coleman and Louis Schreuder as the halfback pairing. 

Up front, flanks Michael Rhodes and Sikhumbuzo Notshe form the loose trio with Carr. Ruan Botha, Jean Kleyn, Vincent Koch, Michael Willemse and Oli Kebble will start as the tight five. 

Coetzee believes this is an ideal opportunity to rest players who've played for extended periods throughout the season and to give fringe players some game time.

'Players like Steven Kitshoff, Frans Malherbe, Eben Etzebeth, Manny Carizza, Schalk Burger, Duane Vermeulen, Nic Groom, Demetri Catrakilis, De Allende, De Jongh, Dillyn Leyds and Cheslin Kolbe have played a lot of rugby and deserve a break. And giving the youngsters a chance will continue to increase the capacity within our squad', says Coetzee.

Stormers – 15 Robert du Preez, 14 Johnny Kotze, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Jaco Taute, 11 Pat Howard, 10 Kurt Coleman, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Nizaam Carr (c), 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Michael Willemse, 1 Oli Kebble.
Subs: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Wilco Louw, 19 Jan de Klerk, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Godlen Masimla, 22 Seabelo Senatla, 23 Kobus van Wyk.

Photo: Peter Heeger/Gallo Images

Post by

Mariette Adams