SA Super Rugby decision set for July

SA Rugby has called a special general meeting for 7 July to confirm the four South African entrants to a revised Super Rugby competition from 2018.

With two South African sides set to be cut from the competition – expected to be the Cheetahs and Kings – next month's general meeting will enforce a 'constitutional responsibility for determining the SA teams to participate in Super Rugby'.

In April, representatives of the six Super Rugby franchises agreed to a set of criteria to determine the four teams to represent South Africa in the competition from 2018, which were weighted as financial and economic sustainability; sustainable support base; team performance; and stadium and facilities. These criteria were further broken down in sub-criteria, and measurement mechanisms for each of these were also set and agreed upon.

ALSO READ: Cheetahs invited to join Pro12

SA Rugby CEO Jurie Roux said the special general meeting would decide on a proposal from the executive council which, in turn, would have received a recommendation on the participants from the franchise committee, whose membership is made up of representatives from the Super Rugby teams.

The proposal will also be debated by the non-franchise committee – comprising the CEOs of the 14 provincial rugby unions – before reaching the special general meeting.

Photo: Ryan Wilkisky/BackpagePix

Post by

Craig Lewis