Sykes to lead Kings against Sharks

Steven Sykes will captain the Kings in their Super Rugby opener against the Sharks in Port Elizabeth on Saturday.

Sykes will pack down in the second row alongside fellow former Sharks player JC Astle, while Tom Botha, Martin Ferreira and Schalk Ferreira complete the tight five. Chris Cloete, Thembelani Bholi and Jacques Engelbrecht make up the loose trio.

Ntando Kebe and experienced Elgar Watts will slot in at scrumhalf and flyhalf respectively, with Shane Gates and JP du Plessis combining in the midfield.

Malcolm Jaer, Luzuko Vulindlu and Jurgen Visser make up the back three.

Kings – 15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Luzuko Vulindlu, 13 JP du Plessis, 12 Shane Gates, 11 Malcolm Jaer, 10 Elgar Watts, 9 Ntando Kebe, 8 Jacques Engelbrecht, 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 Chris Cloete, 5 JC Astle, 4 Steven Sykes (c), 3 Tom Botha, 2 Martin Ferreira, 1 Schalk Ferreira.
Subs: 16 Edgar Marutlulle, 17 Sti Sithole, 18 Louis Albertse, 19 Schalk Oelofse, 20 Cyril-John Velleman, 21 Leighton Eksteen, 22 Louis Fouche, 23 Charles Radebe.

Super Rugby teams (Round 1)

Photo: Michael Sheehan/Gallo Images

Post by