Tahs bulk up for Brumbies

Waratahs coach Michael Cheika has recalled Wycliff Palu for the crucial clash with the Brumbies in Canberra on Friday.

Palu featured off the bench in the win over the Rebels at the weekend, but has been restored to the starting XV, where he will form part of an imposing back three alongside Jacques Potgieter and Michael Hooper.

His inclusion sees captain Dave Dennis revert to lock, with Mitch Chapman dropping to the bench.

Those are the only changes to the Waratahs side as they look to end a four-year drought in Canberra in order to keep pace with the Brumbies at the top of the Australian conference.

Waratahs – 15 Israel Folau, 14 Peter Betham, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Jacques Potgieter, 5 Dave Dennis (c), 4 Will Skelton, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.
Subs (one to be omitted): 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Mitch Chapman, 20 Stephen Hoiles, 21 Pat McCutcheon, 22 Brendan McKibbin, 23 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 24 Matt Carraro.

Super Rugby teams (Round 12)

Photo: Matt King/Getty Images