Tahs edge Chiefs

Rob Horne scored a hat-trick as the Waratahs beat the Chiefs 38-36 in their pre-season clash in Campbelltown on Friday.

The two sides, who lay claim to the last three Vodacom Super Rugby titles, put on an excellent display of running rugby in an open contest which produced 10 tries. 

A late first-half score by flank Jacques Potgieter together with Horne's earlier brace, saw the hosts lead 33-28 at the interval, with Hosea Gear, Bryce Heem and Mike Fitzgerald crossing for the Chiefs. 

Sonny Bill Williams was introduced by the Chiefs at the start of the second period, but he was kept relatively quiet by the Waratahs defence. A penalty by fullback Damian McKenzie narrowed the deficit to two, but Horne completed his hat-trick soon thereafter.

The Waratahs conceded a late try and a penalty, but luckily for them, McKenzie skewed the conversion and what would have been the match-winning penalty.

Waratahs – Tries: Taqele Naiyaravoro, Rob Horne (3), Israel Folau, Jacques Potgieter. Conversions: Bernard Foley (4).
Chiefs – Tries: Hosea Gear, Bryce Heem, Mike Fitzgerald, Tevita Kolomatangi. Conversions: Marty McKenzie (2). Penalties: M. McKenzie (3), Damian McKenzie.

Waratahs – 15 Israel Folau, 14 Rob Horne, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 6 Jacques Potgieter, 5 Will Skelton, 4 Mitchell Chapman, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.

Subs: TBC

Chiefs (squad) – Michael Allardice, Johan Bardoul, Mitchell Crosswell, Hika Elliot, Jarrod Firth, Mike Fitzgerald, Mitchell Graham, Tevita Kolomatangi, Pauliasi Manu, Quentin McDonald, Jamie Mackintosh, Rhys Marshall, Sean Polwart, Matt Symons, Siate Tokolahi, Maa'ma Vaipulu, Hosea Gear, Bryce Heem, Ngataua Hukatai, Anton Lienert-Brown, Damian McKenzie, Marty McKenzie, Tom Marshall, Augustine Pulu, Robbie Robinson, Seta Tamanivalu, Brad Weber, Sonny Bill Williams.

Photo: Mark Kolbe/Getty Images

Post by

Mariette Adams