Tahs welcome back Folau

Waratahs fullback Israel Folau will make his return against the Force on Saturday, as one of four changes to the backline.

Fully recovered from being sidelined for two weeks with a throat injury, Folau is part of a new-look back three, with Rob Horne and Cam Crawford on the wings.

Crawford gets his first shot in the top grade in 2014, courtesy of a broken foot to left wing speedster Peter Betham. Eight tries in seven games last season gave Crawford the best tries-to-games ratio in Super Rugby but off-season surgery on his left shoulder stalled his charge. Horne's second chance in No 14 comes due a knee injury to Alofa Alofa.

Kurtley Beale returns to inside centre, re-establishing the partnership with Adam Ashley-Cooper.

The pack is unchanged.

Waratahs – 15 Israel Folau, 14 Cam Crawford, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Dave Dennis (c), 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Jacques Potgeiter, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Will Skelton, 3 Sepoke Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.
Subs: 16 Silatolu Latu, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Stephen Hoiles, 20 Patrick McCutcheon, 21 Brendan McKibbin, 22 Jono Lance, 23 Matt Carraro.

Super Rugby teams (Round 9)

Post by

Simon Borchardt