Three changes to Wallabies squad

Utility back Matt Giteau has returned to the Wallabies squad for the Test against the All Blacks on 8 August.

Giteau missed last weekend’s match against Argentina as the result of an injury, but will make his comeback in one of three changes to the Australian squad announced on Friday.

Wycliff Palu and the uncapped Toby Smith have also come into the 31-man squad for next Saturday's clash in Sydney, which will decide the winner of the Rugby Championship.

Wallabies coach Michael Cheika said he felt the squad was beginning to take shape after testing out different combinations in the first two Rugby Championship matches.

‘In addition to the 31 players, we’ll be bringing some injured and fringe players into camp to continue their rehabilitation and manage their return to play. It’s important that they remain connected and contribute to the group.

‘Toby has had a solid season with the Rebels, and has been working really hard while the group has been away. Our intention was always to rest Wycliff prior to this camp, and he has come back in great shape and really eager to play.’

Wallabies squad – Adam Ashley-Cooper, Kurtley Beale, Quade Cooper, Scott Fardy, Israel Folau, Bernard Foley, Matt Giteau, Greg Holmes, Michael Hooper, James Horwill, Sekope Kepu, Tevita Kuridrani, Christian Lealiifano, Stephen Moore, Drew Mitchell, Ben McCalman, Sean McMahon, Dean Mumm, Wycliff Palu, Nick Phipps, David Pocock, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Scott Sio, Rob Simmons, Will Skelton , James Slipper, Toby Smith, Henry Speight, Matt Toomua, Joe Tomane, Nic White.

Photo: Chris Hyde/Getty Images

Post by