Two pools of death in Champions Cup

The draw for the inaugural European Rugby Champions Cup has been made, with champions Toulon facing Leicester, Ulster and the Llanelli Scarlets.

Usually in these draws there will be one so called 'Pool of Death' but Tuesday's event threw up two, as Saracens, Munster, Clermont and the Sale Sharks were also pitted against each other in Pool 1.

Pool 2 will see Pro12 champions Leinster face Top 14 finalists Castres, Premiership giants Harlequins and the improving London Wasps.

Glasgow head Pool 4 and will take on two French sides in the shape of Montpellier and Toulouse, with Bath completing another tough foursome.

Finally, Pool 5 consists of Premiership winners Northampton Saints, the big-spending Racing Métro, the Neath-Swansea Ospreys and Italian side Treviso.

European Rugby Champions Cup pools:

Pool 1: Saracens, Munster, Clermont, Sale Sharks
Pool 2: Leinster, Castres, Harlequins, London Wasps
Pool 3: Toulon, Leicester Tigers, Ulster, Llanelli Scarlets
Pool 4: Glasgow Warriors, Montpellier, Bath, Toulouse
Pool 5: Northampton Saints, Racing Métro, Neath-Swansea Ospreys, Treviso

Photo: David Rogers/Getty Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt