USA ring the changes

Coach Mike Tolkin has made 12 changes to the USA’s starting lineup to face the Springboks in London on Wednesday.

Only Phil Thiel, Samu Manoa and Blaine Scully have retained their places in the run-on XV that last started against Scotland.

The matchday 23 includes seven players who have not featured at the World Cup as yet. Five of them (Louis Stanfill, Matthew Trouville, Niku Kruger, Zach Test and Andrew Suniula) will start and two others (Joe Taufetee and Mate Moeakiola) are on the bench.

No 8 Samu Manoa will captain the Eagles for the first time in his Test career.

USA – 15 Blaine Scully, 14 Brett Thompson, 13 Folau Niua, 12 Andrew Suniula, 11 Zach Test, 10 Shalom Suniula, 9 Niku Kruger, 8 Samu Manoa (c), 7 John Quill, 6 Danny Barrett, 5 Matthew Trouville, 4 Louis Stanfill, 3 Chris Baumann, 2 Phil Thiel, 1 Oli Kilifi.
Subs: 16 Joe Taufetee, 17 Zach Fenoglio, 18 Mate Moeakiola, 19 Titi Lamositele, 20 Cam Dolan, 21 Al McFarland, 22 Mike Petri, 23 Chris Wyles.
Photo: Alex Livesey/Getty Images

Post by

Craig Lewis