UWC crowned Varsity Shield champs

Herschel Jantjies scored a brace as UWC thumped UFH 45-2 in the Varsity Shield final in Bellville on Monday.

After falling well short in last year's title decider against Wits and losing their promotion-relegation playoff against UCT, UWC had a point to prove in the 2017 final and they did just that.

Before the knockout stage, UWC had won five of their six round-robin matches to finish the regular season at the top of the log. They will, however, not be promoted to the Varsity Cup next year as promotion-relegation between the two competitions only takes places every two years.

UWC’s only defeat of the season came against UFH, who beat them 32-31. But there was to be no repeat of that result in the final on Monday, as the host ran riot in front of their home crowd.

A try by outside centre Michaine Fick and Jantjies’ double, meant UCW held a 21-0 lead at the break.

UFH started the second half strongly and cut the deficit by two with a penalty. That was as good as it got for the visitors. UWC continued their rich try-scoring form with touchdowns from hooker Ismaeel Schroder, prop Justin Theys and wing Andre Manuel.

Captain Aidynn Cupido, who made a name for himself during his school days at Paul Roos, kicked five of his teams six conversions for a personal tally of 15 points, to seal the win and secure the title.

Earlier in the day, Tuks beat Maties 42-27 in the Young Guns final to clinch a second successive title in the junior competition.

UWC – Tries: Michaine Fick, Herschel Jantjies (2), Ismaeel Schroder, Justin Theys, Andre Manuel. Conversions: Aidynn Cupido (5).
UFH – Penalty: TBC.

UWC – 15 Daniel Bock, 14 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 13 Michaine Fick, 12 Hendrick Carstens, 11 Andre Manuel, 10 Aidynn Cupido, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Adriaan Paarwater, 7 Shaine Orderson, 6 Dean van Tonder, 5 Curtley Thomas, 4 Brandon Valentyn, 3 Justin Theys, 2 Ralph Jansen, 1 Mzo Buthelezi.
Subs: 16 Ismaeel Schroeder, 17 Nathan Cloete, 18 Bradley Jumaats, 19 Matthew Le Roux, 20 Alwyn Carstens, 21 Clayton Daniels, 22 Roderick Moses, 23 Keagan Fortune.

UFH – 15 Siphoxolo Zaula, 14 Zayne Farmers, 13 Xolela Daniels, 12 Somila Jho, 11Wilfred Bowers, 10 Jeandre Christian, 9 Qhama Masiza, 8 Sibusiso Sityebi, 7 Thulani Njenje, 6 Zanoxolo Qwele, 5 Philisani Ncoko, 4 Athenkosi Makeleni, 3 Bulelani Mdodana, 2 Mkhonto Caku-caku, 1 Luxhanti Tame.
Subs: 16 Litha Magocoba, 17 Sivuyile Mdishwa, 18 Siphosethu Tsotsa, 19 Leon Ndlovu, 20 Lindokuhle Kenene, 21 Luyolo Batshise 22 Sibongile Novuka, 23 Asiphe Fanele.

Photo: Varsity Rugby

Post by

Mariette Adams