Van der Merwe starts for Scotland

Duhan van der Merwe has been named in Scotland’s starting lineup for their opening Six Nations clash with England at Twickenham on Saturday.

Van der Merwe will earn his fifth Test cap for Scotland after being named to start on the left wing in a strong back three alongside Sean Maitland and captain Stuart Hogg.

Scotland have handed a debut to young Bath centre Cameron Redpath, while also welcoming Finn Russell back into their starting lineup.

In the pack, injuries to Fraser Brown and Stuart McInally mean that George Turner will start at hooker, with Edinburgh hooker David Cherry set to make his Test debut if he takes the field.

There are three other South African-born players on the bench in props Oli Kebble and WP Nel as well as flyhalf Jaco van der Walt, who could earn his second Test cap on Saturday.

Scotland – 15 Stuart Hogg (c), 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Chris Harris, 12 Cameron Redpath, 11 Duhan van der Merwe, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Ali Price, 8 Matt Fagerson, 7 Hamish Watson, 6 Jamie Ritchie, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Scott Cummings, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 George Turner, 1 Rory Sutherland.
Subs: 16 David Cherry, 17 Oli Kebble, 18 WP Nel, 19 Richie Gray, 20 Gary Graham, 21 Scott Steele, 22 Jaco van der Walt, 23 Huw Jones.

READ: What’s in our latest issue?

Subscribe here

Photo: Getty Images