Van Jaarsveld to captain Cheetahs

Hooker Torsten van Jaarsveld will start as one of three changes to the Cheetahs' run-on XV for Saturday's match against the Sunwolves in Tokyo.

Van Jaarsveld takes the No 2 jersey off Elandré Huggett and will stand in as captain in the absence of the injured Francois Venter.

William Small-Smith replaces Venter at outside centre, with Junior Pokomela providing midfield cover off the bench.

The only other change sees Niel Marais earn a starting berth at flyhalf, with Fred Zeilinga rotating to the bench.   

Cheetahs – 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 William Small-Smith, 12 Clinton Swart, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Niel Marais, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Henco Venter, 7 Oupa Mohoje, 6 Uzair Cassiem, 5 Carl Wegner, 4 Armandt Koster, 3 Johan Coetzee, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Ox Nche.
Subs: 16 Elandré Huggett, 17 Charles Marais, 18 Tom Botha, 19 Francois Uys, 20 Niell Jordaan, 21 Tian Meyer, 22 Junior Pokomela, 23 Fred Zeilinga.

Super Rugby teams (Round 14)

Photo: Johan Pretorius/Gallo Images

Post by