• Hendricks, Van Staden, Vermeulen among Bulls award winners

    Marco van Staden and Cornal Hendricks were named joint winners of the Players of the Year accolade during the Vodacom Bulls awards ceremony on Friday.

    The Blue Bulls Company held their combined awards ceremony for the 2020-21 season on the very field where they lifted both the Vodacom Super Rugby Unlocked and Carling Currie Cup trophies earlier in the season.

    The event took place under the stars above Loftus Versfeld in a picnic-styled celebration, where players, management, sponsors, stakeholders and family came together to celebrate the on-field success of the franchise.

    The setting on the A field also ensured that there was enough social distance between the guests, and that all other Covid-19 protocols could be strictly followed.

    ‘A special mention must go to Vodacom Bulls captain and Springbok World Cup-winning No 8 Duane Vermeulen as well as one of rugby’s greatest comeback stories, Cornal Hendricks, as they continued to rack up the accolades after winning SA Rugby’s Player of the Year and Carling Currie Cup Player of the Year in the past week,’ a statement read.

    ‘Furthermore, the announcement of Marco van Staden and Hendricks as joint winners of Vodacom’s Players of the Year marks the first time in this franchise’s proud history.’


    Forward of the Year: Jordan van Dyk

    Back of the Year: Stravino Jacobs

    Player of the Year: Janco Uys

    Carling Currie Cup

    Forward of the Year: Trevor Nyakane

    Back of the Year: Cornal Hendricks

    Player of the Year: Duane Vermeulen

    Vodacom Super Rugby Unlocked

    Forward of the Year: Ruan Nortje

    Back of the Year: Ivan van Zyl

    Player of the Year: Marco van Staden

    Main Awards

    Employee of the Year: Douglas Chauke

    Most Improved of the Year: Stravino Jacobs

    Newcomer of the Year: David Kriel

    Team Man of the Year: Jan Uys

    Fans’ Player of the Year (APP): Duane Vermeulen

    Players of the Year: Marco van Staden and Cornal Hendricks

    ALSO READ: What’s in our new issue?

    Subscribe here

    Post by

    Craig Lewis