Van Wyk to miss Sharks trip

Coach Robert du Preez has named a 25-man squad for the Sharks' match against the Jaguares in Buenos Aires on Saturday.

Wing Kobus van Wyk is unavailable for selection due to injury, while centre André Esterhuizen misses the cut because he is serving a six-week suspension.

Du Preez voiced his unhappiness with the Sharks' overall performance against the Rebels on Saturday, and demanded an improved showing from his charges when they take on the Jaguares.

'Our performance was sub-standard and absolutely unacceptable. We owe everyone associated with our team a more credible showing against the Jaguares.  We will work hard this week on the areas that let us down, with discipline and execution being key.'

The Sharks will depart for Argentina on Tuesday.

Sharks touring squad – Chiliboy Ralepelle, Coenie Oosthuizen, Daniel du Preez, Etienne Oosthuizen, Franco Marais, Jean-Luc du Preez, John-Hubert Meyer, Lourens Adriaanse, Philip van der Walt, Ruan Botha, Stephan Lewis, Tendai Mtawarira, Tera Mtembu, Thomas du Toit, Benhard Janse van Rensburg, Cobus Reinach, Jeremy Ward, Johan Deysel, Lukhanyo Am, Lwazi Mvovo, Michael Claasens, Odwa Ndungane, Rhyno Smith, Sbu Nkosi, Curwin Bosch.

Photo: Steve Haag/Gallo Images

Post by

Mariette Adams