Velleman out as Div overhauls EP for Griquas clash

EP Elephants coach Peter de Villiers has rung the changes to his side ahead of Wednesday’s clash with Griquas in Gqeberha.

Watch: How Jesse Kriel sustained serious head injury

De Villiers had to make a number of injury-enforced changes, replacing flank CJ Velleman, prop Siya Nzuzo and second rower Arnold Kleyn by Diego Williams, Marzuq Maarman and Mncedisi Dlwengu, respectively.

In an all-new front row, Robin Stevens comes in at hooker for Sithembiso Befile and Lumpumlo Mguca takes over at tighthead prop from Emile Klaasen. Befile and Klaasen both drop to the bench.

Elephants captain Courtney Winnaar makes the transition from 15 to 10 in the backline and replaces Karlo Aspeling. Keano Vers moves into the vacant 15 position. The impressive Christopher Hollis and Riaan Arends continue to round out the back three, while Richman Gora starts at scrumhalf.

Griquas, for their part, have also made changes to the side that suffered a narrow defeat by the Stormers last week.

Veteran flyhalf and captain George Whitehead is out injured and will be replaced by Tinus de Beer at flyhalf with scrumhalf Stefan Ungerer assuming the captaincy duties.

Both sides will be keen to make an impression and bounce back following difficult defeats last week. Wednesday’s game has had to be brought forward because of a scheduling clash with the PSL.

Kick-off: Wednesday, 7pm.

EP Elephants – 15 Keanu Vers, 14 Riaan Arends, 13 Athi Nayinje, 12 Sherwin Slater, 11 Christopher Hollis, 10 Courtney Winnaar (c), 9 Richman Gora, 8 Zingisa April, 7 Anele Lungisa, 6 Diego Williams, 5 Mncedisi Dlwengu, 4 Athenkosi Khetani, 3 Lumpumlo Mguca, 2 Robin Stevens, 1 Marzuq Maarman.
Subs: 16 Sithembiso Befile, 17 Lyle Lombard, 18 Emile Klaasen, 19 Ronald Scheckle, 20 Bevin Prinsloo, 21 Athi Manentsa, 22 Josh Alderman, 23 Josia Twum-Boafo.

Griquas – 15 Masixole Banda, 14 Daniel Kasende, 13 Michal Haznar, 12 Andre Swarts, 11 Enver Brandt, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Stefan Ungerer (c), 8 Carl Els, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Cameron Lindsay, 4 Ewan Coetzee, 3 Tijde Visser, 2 Alandre van Rooyen, 1 Mox Mxoli.
Subs: 16 HJ Luus, 17 Andrew Beerwinkel, 18 John-Roy Jenkinson, 19 Mzwanele Zito, 20 Adre Smith, 21 Athlon Davids, 22 Johnathan Francke, 23 James Verity-Amm, 24 Bandisa Ndlovu, 25 Raegan Oranje, 26 Harlon Klaasen.

ALSO READ: What’s in our latest issue?

Subscribe here