Vermeulen up for SA Sports Award

Duane Vermeulen has been nominated for SA Sports Star of the Year, and the Blitzboks for Team of the Year.

The Springbok No 8 will be up against Ernst van Dyk (wheelchair marathon athlete), Portia Modise (football), Khotso Mokoena (track and field), AB de Villiers (cricket) and 2012 winner Chad Le Clos (swimming) for the prestigious award.

The Blitzboks have been shortlisted in the category for Team of the Year following their gold medal triumph at the Commonwealth Games in Scotland, as well as Sevens World Series tournament wins in Port Elizabeth and Las Vegas. The other nominees in this category are the Commonwealth lawn bowls team and the SA U19 cricket side.

Blitzboks coach Neil Powell is one of the nominees for Coach of the Year alongside Shakes Mashaba (Bafana Bafana) and Graham Hill (swimming).

Candidates for the awards are nominated by the National Sports Federations, the sports media and the SA Sports Awards Voting Panel. The awards will take place on 30 November in Johannesburg.

Photo: Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images