Wade starts for Saxons

The England Saxons have made three changes to their starting XV for their final match against SA A in George on Friday.

Christian Wade comes off the bench to replace the injured Alex Lewington on the right wing, while Dave Ewers starts at blindside flank, with Don Armand moving to No 8.

The Saxons beat SA A 32-24 in the first match in Bloemfontein, but coach Ali Hepher said they would have to up their game to win the series.

'South Africa A will come back with an improved performance and so we need to make a shift as big, if not bigger than they do,' he said. 'We’ve been working on certain things in training so that we can put more into the games and take our opportunities better when they come. We’ll be looking to be more clinical this week.'

England Saxons – 15 Mike Haley, 14 Semesa Rokoduguni, 13 Nick Tompkins, 12 Ollie Devoto, 11 Christian Wade, 10 Danny Cipriani, 9 Dan Robson, 8 Don Armand, 7 Matt Kvesic, 6 Dave Ewers, 5 Charlie Ewels, 4 Dave Attwood (c), 3 Kieran Brookes, 2 Tommy Taylor, 1 Alec Hepburn.
Subs: 16 George McGuigan, 17 Ross Harrison, 18 Jake Cooper-Woolley, 19 Mitch Lees, 20 Sam Jones, 21 Micky Young, 22 Sam Hill, 23 Sam James.

South Africa A team

Photo: Steve Haag/Gallo Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt