Wales welcome back Warburton

Wales have made five changes to their starting XV for the opening Test against the All Blacks at Eden Park on Saturday.

Captain Sam Warburton, who missed the 27-13 defeat to England at Twickenham two weeks ago, will start at openside flank. He replaces stand-in skipper Dan Lydiate, who falls out of the match 23.

Bradley Davies comes in for Jake Ball at No 4 lock, while Ken Owens and Gethin Jenkins will start at hooker and loosehead prop respectively, with Scott Baldwin and Rob Evans on the bench.

The only change to the backline sees Jonathan Davies replace Scott Williams at outside centre.

Wales – 15 Liam Williams, 14 George North, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Hallam Amos, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Rhys Webb, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (c), 6 Ross Moriarty, 5 Alun Wyn Jones, 4 Bradley Davies, 3 Samson Lee, 2 Ken Owens, 1 Gethin Jenkins.
Subs: 16 Scott Baldwin, 17 Rob Evans, 18 Tomas Francis, 19 Jake Ball, 20 Ellis Jenkins, 21 Gareth Davies, 22 Gareth Anscombe, 23 Scott Williams.

All Blacks team

Photo: Julian Finney/Getty Images

Post by

Simon Borchardt