Wallabies rally rookies

Henry Speight and Rory Arnold are among six new players called up to the Wallabies squad for the upcoming Tests against the Boks and Argentina in September.

Speight returns to the Test squad after a stint with the Australia Sevens side at the Olympics, while Arnold earned a recall after recovering from an elbow injury.

Coach Michael Cheika has selected four uncapped players in the group. They are Sefa Naivalu (only eligible to play on 18 September), Kyle Godwin, Lopeti Timani and Tom Robertson.

The Wallabies have lost a core group of experienced players with Matt Giteau, Ben McCalman, Matt Toomua and Rob Horne all out due to injury, while veteran Adam Ashley-Cooper left the camp to return to his French Top 14 club Bordeaux.

Meanwhile, utility back Luke Morahan has been declared fit and is also available for selection against South Africa.

Wallabies squad – Allan Alaalatoa, Rory Arnold, Adam Coleman, Quade Cooper, Kane Douglas, Scott Fardy, Israel Folau, Bernard Foley, Will Genia, Kyle Godwin, James Hanson, Dane Haylett-Petty, Reece Hodge, Michael Hooper, Sekope Kepu, Samu Kerevi, Tevita Kuridrani, Sean McMahon, Drew Mitchell, Stephen Moore (c), Luke Morahan, Dean Mumm, Sefa Naivalu, Nick Phipps, David Pocock, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Tom Robertson, Rob Simmons, Scott Sio, Will Skelton, Henry Speight, James Slipper, Lopeti Timani.

Photo: David Rogers/Getty Images

Post by

Mariette Adams