Kerevi to miss Wallabies tour

Uncapped trio Kyle Godwin, Tolu Latu and Marika Koroibete have been included in Australia's 32-man squad for their end-of-year tour of Europe.

Force centre Godwin and Waratahs hooker Latu have been with the squad previously, but the selection of Koroibete comes as a surprise. The 24-year-old has signed on to join the Rebels from next season, but the league convert has not played a minute of rugby union in his professional career yet.

Koroibete played for the West Tigers before joining Melbourne Storm in 2014. He also represented Fiji in rugby league.

Scrumhalf Will Genia, the only overseas-based player in the touring party, has been ruled out of the games against Wales and England as they fall outside the Test window.

Samu Kerevi and Luke Morahan have been omitted from the squad, with the former set to undergo ankle surgery.

Australia have lost eight of their last 11 Test matches, but with matches against Wales, Scotland, France, Ireland and England scheduled for November and December, the Wallabies will be vying for a Grand Slam triumph.

Wallabies squad:

Forwards –  Allan Alaalatoa, Rory Arnold, Adam Coleman, Kane Douglas, Scott Fardy,  James Hanson, Michael Hooper, Sekope Kepu, Tolu Latu, Sean McMahon, Stephen Moore, Dean Mumm, David Pocock, Tom Robertson, Rob Simmons, Scott Sio, Will Skelton,  James Slipper, Lopeti Timani.

Backs – Quade Cooper, Israel Folau, Bernard Foley, Nick Frisby, Will Genia, Kyle Godwin, Dane Haylett-Petty, Reece Hodge, Marika Koroibete, Tevita Kuridrani, Sefanaia Naivalu, Nick Phipps, Henry Speight.

Photo: Getty Images

Post by

Mariette Adams