Polota-Nau to miss Bok Test

The Wallabies will travel to South Africa without hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau.

Polota-Nau will be rested for the last two rounds of the Rugby Championship. It's believed that the hooker is battling with injury, and the Wallabies management wants him fresh for the end-of-year tour.

Polota-Nau joins David Pocock and Matt Toomua on Australia's injury list. Uncapped duo Tolu Latu and Sefa Naivalu have been drafted into the squad for the upcoming Tests against the Springboks and Argentina.

Fijian-born Naivalu was called up to the travelling party after becoming eligible for Wallabies selection on 18 September, while Reds scrumhalf Nick Frisby was added as cover for Will Genia and Nick Phipps.

Coach Michael Cheika has dropped Kyle Godwin, Drew Mitchell, Ben McCalman, Will Skelton and Toby Smith from the 30-man squad.

Wallabies squad:
Forwards – Allan Alaalatoa, Rory Arnold, Adam Coleman, Kane Douglas, Scott Fardy, James Hanson, Michael Hooper, Sekope Kepu, Tolu Latu, Sean McMahon, Stephen Moore (c), Dean Mumm, Tom Robertson, Rob Simmons, Scott Sio, James Slipper, Lopeti Timani.
Backs – Quade Cooper, Israel Folau, Bernard Foley, Nick Frisby, Will Genia, Dane Haylett-Petty, Reece Hodge, Samu Kerevi, Tevita Kuridrani, Luke Morahan, Sefanaia Naivalu, Nick Phipps, Henry Speight.

Photo: Cameron Spencer/Getty Images

Post by

Mariette Adams