Waratahs beef up for Sharks

Michael Cheika has made a number of changes to the Waratahs pack in an anticipation of a physical onslaught by the Sharks.

Wallabies prop Benn Robinson and No 8 Wycliff Palu will start, while Jacques Potgieter and Dave Dennis move to lock and blindside flank respectively.

Israel Folau has been ruled out of this week's clash due to a bruised throat, and may miss the Waratahs' second tour match against the Stormers. Cheika has been forced to make several changes to his backline as a result, although he has resisted moving Kurtley Beale out of the No 12 position.

Jono Lance will start at fullback in Folau's place, Rob Horne will start on the wing, and Alofa Alofa drops out out the run-on side.

Cheika will finalise the Waratahs bench later in the week.

Waratahs – 15 Jono Lance, 14 Rob Horne, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Peter Betham, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Dave Dennis (c), 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Jacques Potgieter, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.
Subs: TBC

Photo: Johan Pretorius/Gallo Images

Post by

Jon Cardinelli