Waratahs roll out big guns

The Waratahs have named a star-studded squad to take on the Chiefs in Rotorua tomorrow.

After narrowly beating the Brumbies in Wagga Wagga last weekend, coach Daryl Gibson has selected a more experienced team for the encounter against their New Zealand rivals.

Tatafu Polota-Nau, Dean Mumm and captain Michael Hooper have been added to bolster the forwards. Nick Phipps, Kurtley Beale, Matt Carraro are there to provide explosive play in the backline. Angus Ta-avao has been promoted from the bench after scoring the match-winning try against the Brumbies. 

Gibson said he welcomes the opportunity to test new combinations in these pre-season games, as well as playing against strong opposition. 

'Away games are obviously a bit tougher, but the trip to New Zealand will only stand us in good stead. Being in each other’s company for 10 days touring together, will also provide a good opportunity to grow the bonds between us.'

Waratahs 1 Jeremy Tilse, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 4 Dean Mumm, 5 Will Skelton, 6 Jack Dempsey, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 8 Brad Wilkin, 9 Nick Phipps, 10 Kurtley Beale, 11 Matt Carraro, 12 David Horwitz, 13 Rob Horne, 14 Reece Robinson, 15 Zac Guildford.
Subs: 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Benn Robinson, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Senio Toleafoa, 20 Ned Hanigan, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 Bryce Hegarty, 23 Andrew Kellaway, 24 Jake Gordon, 25 Harry Jones, 28 Hugh Roach, 29 Matt Sandell.

Photo: Rebs Metcalfe/Getty Images

Post by

Mariette Adams