Waratahs stick to their guns

Waratahs coach Michael Cheika has named an unchanged side for the match against the Rebels in Melbourne on Friday.

Cheika has afforded his team the opportunity to set the record straight after their shock 25-13 defeat to the Force in their opening Vodacom Super Rugby match in Sydney on Sunday.

Pat McCutcheon and Peter Betham are the only additions to the squad for Friday's match, with the bench yet to be decided.

Flyhalf Bernard Foley will win his 50th Super Rugby cap, while prop Benn Robinson is set to join Phil Waugh as the most-capped Waratahs player when he wins his 136th cap for the side.

The Rebels will be looking to do the double over last year's finalists after producing a strong display to see off the Crusaders in Christchurch last week.

Waratahs – 15 Israel Folau, 14 Taqele Naiyaravaro, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Jaques Potgieter, 5 Will Skelton, 4 David Dennis (c), 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.
Subs (two to be omitted): 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Sam Lousi, 20 Mitchell Chapman, 21 Stephen Hoiles, 22 Brendan McKibbin, 23 Matt Carraro, 24 Pat McCutcheon, 25 Peter Betham.

Photo: Mark Kolbe/Getty Images