Waratahs without wonder wing

Peter Betham will start on the right wing for the Waratahs against the Hurricanes on Saturday.

He replaces Taqele Naiyaravoro, the team's leading try-scorer, who couldn't travel to Wellington because of ongoing visa complications.

In other changes, outside centre Adam Ashley-Cooper will earn his first start since round two, ahead of Matt Carraro, while blindside flank Pat McCutcheon replaces Jacques Potgieter, who sustained an ankle injury at the team's training session on Tuesday. Potgieter came through training and a fitness test on Thursday, but coach Michael Cheika has opted to play him off the bench. 

Waratahs – 15 Israel Folau, 14 Peter Betham, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Pat McCutcheon, 5 Dave Dennis (c), 4 Will Skelton, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tolu Latu, 1 Benn Robinson.
Subs (two to be omitted): 16 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Jacques Potgieter, 20 Mitchell Chapman, 21 Stephen Hoiles, 22 Brendan McKibbin, 23 Matt Carraro, 24 David Horwitz, 25 Jed Holloway. 

Super Rugby teams (Round 10)

Photo: Mark Kolbe/Getty Images

Post by

Mariette Adams