Two SA referees for World Cup

Craig Joubert and Jaco Peyper have been named in World Rugby's 12-member panel to officiate at the 2015 World Cup.

Joubert, who has refereed 55 Tests and Peyper, 20 Tests, complete the list along with two each from New Zealand, England and Ireland and one from Wales, while France leads the way with three referees. 

Together they boast a combined tally of 361 Tests, with 60 of those coming from Welshman Nigel Owens, the most experienced official in the group.

In addition, World Rugby has announced seven touch judges, including Stuart Berry and four TMOs, one of which is Shaun Veldsman, to assist the referees. 


Craig Joubert (SA, 55 Tests)
Jaco Peyper (SA, 20)
Jérôme Garcès (France, 22)
Pascal Gauzere (France, 17)
​Romain Poite (France, 39)
​Glen Jackson (NZ, 10)
Chris Pollock (NZ, 18)
George Clancy (Ireland, 38)
John Lacey (Ireland, 13)
Wayne Barnes (England, 57)
JP Doyle (England, 12)
Nigel Owens (Wales, 60)

Assistant referees:

Stuart Berry (SA, 15)
Mike Fraser (NZ, 10)
Angus Gardner (AUS, 2)
Leighton Hodges (Wales, 19)
Marius Mitrea (Italy, 13) 
Mathieu Raynal (France, 9)


Shaun Veldsman (SA, 50)
George Ayoub (AUS, 33)
Graham Hughes (England, 60)
Ben Skeen (NZ, 11) 

Photo: Gerhard Steenkamp/BackpagePix

Post by

Mariette Adams