World Cup winners up for another award

Siya Kolisi, Rassie Erasmus and Faf de Klerk have been nominated for the Rugby Union Writers’ Club personality of the year award for 2019.

The Pat Marshall Memorial award, which recognises contributions to the game, will be handed out at the annual dinner of the RUWC in central London on 13 January. The latest winner was Ireland’s Johnny Sexton.

After leading the Boks to the World Cup title in November, Kolisi is the probable frontrunner to claim the award this time around, although De Klerk and Erasmus have also been recognised.

Wales veteran Alun Wyn Jones and Japan skipper Michael Leitch are the other nominees.

ALSO READ: Kolbe, Du Toit best of 2019