World Rugby: TMO got it wrong

World Rugby says Wales fullback Gareth Anscombe should have been awarded a try against England at Twickenham last Saturday.

England were leading 12-0 in the 23rd minute of the Six Nations match when Anscombe chased down Rhys Patchell’s cross-kick. TV replays showed him grounding the ball in the in-goal area just before England wing Anthony Watson.

However, New Zealand TMO Glenn Newman saw things differently and the referee went back for a penalty, which Patchell converted.

‘Guys have to get those decisions right,’ fumed Wales coach Warren Gatland after his side’s 12-6 defeat. ‘It looked like a try to me and everyone else I have spoken to has said it looked like a clear try. It was such a big decision in the game.

‘You fly a guy over from New Zealand and he has one big call to make. I think he has made a terrible mistake. You could see on the replay that Anscombe got there first. He put his hand on the ball and grounded it.

‘I just struggled with the wording. He said England got there first and there was no downward pressure from Wales. Gareth got there first [ahead of Watson].’

WATCH: Highlights of England vs Wales

On Tuesday, World Rugby agreed with Gatland.

‘World Rugby has clarified to the Wales team management as part of the usual review process with teams that the TMO made an error in the application of law during the England versus Wales match at Twickenham,’ said a spokesman.

‘In accordance with law 21.1 b, Wales should have been awarded a try as the Wales player grounded the ball.’

England coach Eddie Jones said World Rugby shouldn’t have acknowledged the TMO’s error.

‘I just think once the game’s done and dusted, that’s the game. You can’t have retrospective refereeing of decisions being done.

‘We’ve got to trust the referees, respect their integrity. When I say respect the referee, that’s the TV process as well, and then you leave it at that.’

Photo: Huw Evans/Picture Agency

Post by

Mariette Adams