WP dominate SA Schools

Twelve players from the Western Province U18 Craven Week side have been included in the SA Schools squad.

WP thrashed EP 95-0 in the unofficial final at Craven Week.

The remainder of the 26-man squad is made up of players from the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Eastern Province, SWD, the Valke and Griquas CD.

EP flyhalf Curwin Bosch, who was named the Craven Week Player of the Year in 2014, was one of four players who retained their places in the squad, with the others being Blue Bulls scrumhalf Embrose Papier wing Andell Loubser and Griquas CD looseforward Cobus Wiese.

The SA Schools squad will face Wales on 7 August in Stellenbosch, France on 11 August at Outeniqua Park in George and England on 15 August at City Park Stadium in Cape Town.

The 26-man SA Schools A squad, meanwhile, will take on Italy in Stellenbosch, England in George and Wales in Cape Town in their clashes, which will serve as curtain-raisers to the SA Schools matches.

Hein Kriek from Paul Roos Gymnasium has again been appointed the SA Schools coach, while Lance Sendin from Hugenote Hoerskool in Wellington will guide the SA Schools A team.

SA Schools squad:

Backs: Andell Loubser (Blue Bulls, Menlo Park), Joshua Vermeulen (Western Province, Paul Roos), Nico Leonard (Western Province, Paul Roos), David Brits (Border, Selborne), Stedman Gans (Blue Bulls, Waterkloof), Manie Libbok (SWD, Outeniqua), Manuel Ras (Western Province, Paarl Boys'), Wandisile Simelane (Golden Lions, Jeppe), Curwin Bosch (Eastern Province, Grey High), Damian Willemse (Western Province, Paul Roos), Embrose Papier (Blue Bulls, Garsfontein), Jondre Williams (Western Province, Boland Landbou).

Forwards: Kwezi Mafu (Eastern Province, Grey High), Hacjivah Dayimani (Golden Lions, Jeppe), Johan Visser (Western Province, Paarl Gymnasium), Cobus Wiese (Griquas CD, Upington), Ruben De Villiers (Western Province, Paarl Boys'), Salmaan Moerat (Western Province, Paarl Boys'), Ruben Van Heerden (Blue Bulls, Affies), Ernst Van Rhyn (Western Province, Paarl Gymnasium), Ashwyn Adams (Western Province, Rondebosch), Cabous Eloff (Blue Bulls, Affies), Dewald Maritz (Pumas, Nelspruit), Carlu Sadie (Western Province, Bellville), Johan Grobbelaar (Western Province, Paarl Gymnasium), Nico Peyper (Valke, EG Jansen).

SA Schools A squad:

Backs: Earll Douwrie (Boland, HTS Drostdy), Riaan van Rensburg (Eastern Province, Framesby), Tyreeq February (Western Province, Paarl Boys'), Ryan Muller (Western Province, Bellville), Abner van Reenen (Blue Bulls, Garsfontein), Mujaahid van der Hoven (Western Province, Rylands), Heino Bezuidenhoudt (Eastern Province, Daniel Pienaar), Cyprian Nkomo (Pumas, Middelburg), Eddie Fouche (Blue Bulls, Affies), Bader-Werner Pretorius (KwaZulu-Natal, Michaelhouse), Matthew Dahl (KwaZulu-Natal, Hilton), Jason Olivier (Griffons, Welkom Gimnasium).

Forwards: Zain Davids (Western Province, Rondebosch), Kwanda Dimaza (Border, Dale), Phillip Krause (Blue Bulls, Affies), Ngwekazi Khanya Ncusane (Western Province, Paarl Boys'), PJ Steenkamp (Blue Bulls, Garsfontein), Kamva Dilima (Eastern Province, Grey High), Reinhard Nothnagel (Golden Lions, Monument), Hendre Stassen (Valke, EG Jansen), PW Koegelenberg (Boland, Swartland), Mashao Mukhari (Blue Bulls, Pretoria Boys'), Ignatius Michael Prinsloo (Free State, Grey College), Abram Venter (Griquas, De Aar), André Lategan (Eastern Province, Framesby), Marnus Van der Merwe (Pumas, Nelspruit).

2015 Under-18 International Series fixtures:

Friday, 7 August – Paul Roos Gymnasium, Stellenbosch

12h00 – SA Schools A vs Italy U18
14h00 – England U18 vs France U18
16h00 – SA Schools vs Wales U18

Tuesday, 11 August – Outeniqua Park, George

13h00 – SA Schools A vs England U18
15h00 – Wales U18 vs Italy U18
17h00 – SA Schools vs France U18

Saturday, 15 August – City Park Stadium Cape Town

11h00 – SA Schools A vs Wales U18
13h00 – France U18 vs Italy U18
15h00 – SA Schools vs England U18

Photo: Chris Ricco/BackpagePix

Post by

Simon Borchardt