Taute returns for decider

Jaco Taute has recovered from injury and will start at inside centre for Western Province in the Currie Cup final at Newlands.

Taute had missed the previous two weekends after suffering a rib injury against the Free State Cheetahs in the penultimate round of the regular season. Michael van der Spuy makes way with EW Viljoen dropping out of the match-day squad.

In other news, Nizaam Carr has shaken off his hip injury to take his place at the back of the Province scrum for the final match of the South African provincial season. Carr, who was recently announced the Most Valuable Player and Players' Player of the Year at the Western Province rugby awards, has been a key provider for Coetzee in both defence and attack this season and will be a massive boost after going off early in the semi-final against the Blue Bulls.

Coetzee has also opted to add an extra loose forward to his bench, where Gerbrandt Grobler replaces Oli Kebble.

Western Province – 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Juan de Jongh (c), 12 Jaco Taute, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Rynhardt Elstadt, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Alistair Vermaak.
Subs: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Gerbrandt Grobler, 19 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Kurt Coleman, 22 Michael van der Spuy.

Photo: Johan Pretorius/Gallo Images