generic hexagon

Stormers too good for Cheetahs

  • 28 Jan 2017
Godlen Masimla Godlen Masimla

The Stormers scored seven tries as they recorded an emphatic 43-7 win over the Cheetahs in a Super Rugby warm-up game in Harare on Saturday.

Robbie Fleck’s charges set the tone from the outset when Damian de Allende scored within the opening few minutes, while Jaco Coetzee and Godlen Masimla also dotted down as the Stormers led 21-7 at half-time.

Although Fleck made a number of changes after the break, the Stormers continued to dominate as they ran in four more tries, with the Cheetahs remaining scoreless in the second stanza.

Masimla completed his brace of tries for the Cape-based side, while Siya Kolisi, Khanyo Ngcukana and Justin Phillips all scored to seal a comprehensive result, which will give the squad a boost of confidence heading into their upcoming warm-up matches against SWD in George on 4 February and the Lions at Newlands on 11 February.

The Stormers will kick off their Super Rugby season against the Bulls on 25 February, while the Cheetahs are set to host the Lions on the same day.

Stormers – Tries: Damian de Allende, Jaco Coetzee, Godlen Masimla (2), Siya Kolisi, Khanyo Ngcukana, Justin Phillips. Conversions: Kurt Coleman (3), Rob du Preez.
Cheetahs – TBC
Stormers squad – Juarno Augustus, Nizaam Carr, Jaco Coetzee, Kurt Coleman, Damian de Allende, Juan de Jongh, Dan du Plessis, Jean-Luc du Plessis, Rob du Preez, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Dewaldt Duvenage, Rynhardt Elstadt, Eben Etzebeth, JC Janse van Rensberg, Siya Kolisi, Cheslin Kolbe, Dillyn Leyds, Wilco Louw, Frans Malherbe, SP Marais, Godlen Masimla, Bongi Mbonambi, Khanyo Ngcukana, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Caylib Oosthuizen, Justin Phillips, Ramone Samuels, JD Shickerling, Chad Solomon, Brandon Thomson, Frans van Wyk, Chris van Zyl, Jano Vermaak, Cobus Wiese, Damian Willemse.
Cheetahs – 15 Ryno Eksteen, 14 Ryno Benjamin, 13 Nico Lee, 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Lihleli Xoli, 10 Fred Zeilinga, 9 JP Smith, 8 Henco Venter, 7 Lihleli Xoli, 6 Boom Prinsloo, 5 Reniel Hugo, 4 Justin Basson, 3 Luan de Bruin, 2 Elandré Huggett, 1 Danie Mienie.
Subs: 16 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 17 Charles Marais, 18 Erich de Jager, 19 Dennis Visser, 20 Francois Uys, 21 Jasper Wiese, 22 Oupa Mohoje, 23 Steven Meiring, 24 Tian Meyer, 25 Clinton Swart, 26 Ali Mgijima, 27 Clayton Blommetjies, 28 Raymond Rhule, 29 Jacques du Toit, 30 Johan Coetzee, 31 Zee Mkhabela.

Photo: Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images

Allister Coetzee following the Boks' historic loss to New Zealand in 2017

SA rugby must move forward

Allister Coetzee’s axing was inevitable and overdue, but the real work starts now, writes CRAIG LEWIS.

Ngani Laumape scores against the Bulls in 2017

Foreign scalps the measure of progress

The next few rounds of Super Rugby will give us a more accurate idea of where the South African teams stand in relation to their more fancied New Zealand counterparts, writes JON CARDINELLI.

Faf de Klerk in SA Rugby magazine

Faf just the trick for Sale

Faf de Klerk has proved to be a smart signing for the Sale Sharks, writes MARTIN GILLINGHAM.

You may also like

Get our daily email update. Subscribe to the SA Rugby magazine newsletter: