KwaZulu-Natal crush EP

KwaZulu-Natal scored nine tries on their way to a convincing 61-12 win over Eastern Province on day two of the U18 Academy Week at HTS Drostdy in Worcester.

Five tries lifted KZN to a 37-7 first-half lead with flyhalf Bader Pretorius contributing 17 points (a try, three conversions and a penalty), while Eastern Province only managed a single converted try by wing Yomelela Keswa.

Pretorius and co's dazzling performance continued in the second half when they ran in four more touchdowns by Masikane Mazwi, Pretorius, Teigan Erasmus and Donovan du Randt. Replacement kicker Simiso Buthelezi's conversion completed the rout. Eastern Province's Michael De Marco scored a late try, but it was a mere consolation.

Meanwhile, the Griffons held on for a 20-17 victory over the South Western Districts, Western Province defeated the Blue Bulls 17-8, Eastern Province CD beat the Red Valke 19-7, Namibia were 20-12 victors against the Griffons CD, a last-gasp try saw the Golden Lions beat Border 27-22, Boland cruised past the Pumas 24-13, the Blue Valke defeated the Leopards 16-13, LSEN thrashed Border CD 40-0, the Golden Lions XV held on for a 22-18 victory over Pumas CD, the Limpopo Blue Bulls came from behind to topple Free State 23-19, Boland XV despatched Griquas CD 16-0 and Griquas breezed past KwaZulu-Natal 29-12.

KwaZulu-Natal (61) – Tries: Bader Pretorius (2), Donovan du Randt, Jaydon Morgan, Marco Palvie, Masikane Mazwi, Simiso Buthelezi, Teigan Erasmus (2). Conversions: Pretorius (4), Buthelezi. Penalties: Pretorius (2).
Eastern Province (12) – Tries: Michael de Marco, Yomelela Keswa. Conversion: Nkosikona Ntebe.

Griffons (20) – Tries: Adriaan Odendaal, Phillip Mare (2). Conversion: Louis Charles Spershott. Penalty: Spershott.
SWD (17) – Tries: Clayton Kiewitz, Cornelius Otto, JP Du Plessis. Conversion: Maurice White.

Western Province (17) – Tries: Calvin Nell, Michael Meyer, Mujaahid van der Hoven. Conversion: Nell
Blue Bulls (8) – Try: Carlo De Nysschen. Penalty: Hendrik Mulder.

Eastern Province CD (19) – Tries: Tries: Christiaan Nel, Glen Flitoor, Sinekhaya Vulindlu. Conversions: Nel (2).
Red Valke (7) – Try: Marnus Gruber. Conversion: Gruber.

Namibia (20) – Tries: Cameron Langenhoven, Cliven Loubser, Desmond Khitago. Conversion: Tristan Mouton. Penalty: Cliven Loubser.
Griffons CD (12) – Tries: Bongani Mkhuma, Relebohjle Sekhobo. Conversion: Angelo Pienaar.

Golden Lions (27) – Tries: Hacjivah Dayimani, Ntobeko Mkhwanazi, Tapiwa Mangwana, Tiaan Schutte. Conversions: Gihard Visagie, Justin Taylor. Penalty: Visagie.
Border (22) – Tries: Bubule Gongqa, Bulela Sotyelelwa, Jason Bantom. Conversions: Josh Alderman. Penalty: Alderman.

Boland (24) – Tries: Gevin Scheepers, Jaydrin Kotze (2). Conversions: Wynand du Toit (3). Penalty: Jacean Klaase.
Pumas (13) – Try: Ian Truter. Conversion: Wessel Muller. Penalties: Muller (2).

Blue Valke (16) – Try: Wernich Human. Conversion: Human. Penalties: Human (3).
Leopards (13) – Try: Jan Welgemoed. Conversion: Johan Barnard. Penalties: Johan Ten Cate (2)

LSEN (40) – Tries: Adward Dirks, Devon van der Westhuizen (2), Matthew Alexander, Willton Isaacs (2). Conversions: Johan Visser (4), Easton Pillay.
Border CD (0)

Golden Lions (22) – Tries: Andile Ngobe, Damian Diedericks, JJ Liebenberg, Zandre Du Plessis. Conversion: Rashard Fuller.
Pumas CD (18) – Tries: Carl Jacobsy, Eon Bumrmann, Manqoba Mnisi. Penalty: Jacobsy.

Limpopo Blue Bulls (23) – Tries: Frans Botha (3). Conversion: Hardus Geldenhuys. Penalties: Geldenhuys, Tony Botha.
Free State (19) – Tries: George Mokhomo, Sentle Lehoko, Stefan Wessels. Conversions: Christiaan Schutte (2).

Boland XV (16) – Try: Earl Adonis. Conversion: Caleb Louw. Penalties: Isak van der Westhuizen (3).
Griquas CD (0)

Griquas (29) – Tries: Jan Cloete (3), Nicolaas Roets, Dwayne Botma. Conversion: Riandri Muller
KwaZulu-Natal CD (12) – Tries: Tries: Devin Aspden, Pieter Keeve. Conversion: Ryan Elliott.

Photo: Petri Oeschger/Gallo Images

Post by