All Blacks call up Naholo, McKenzie

All Blacks coach Steven Hansen has named a 32-man squad for their away Tests against Argentina and South Africa.

Flank Jerome Kaino suffered a shoulder injury against the Springboks and has been ruled out of New Zealand's match against Los Pumas in Buenos Aires on 1 October, but will be fit for their return match against the Boks in Durban a week later. With Sam Cane out for the rest of the campaign, Elliot Dixon and Liam Squire have been added as loose-forward cover.

In the backline, Damian McKenzie has been selected as flyhalf cover for Beauden Barrett and Lima Sopoaga, with Aaron Cruden left out due to an injury.

Wing Waisake Naholo and scrumhalf Tawera Kerr-Barlow have also been added to the squad.

Forwards – Dane Coles, Liam Coltman, Codie Taylor, Wyatt Crockett, Charlie Faumuina, Owen Franks, Joe Moody, Ofa Tu’ungafasi, Brodie Retallick, Luke Romano, Patrick Tuipulotu, Sam Whitelock, Elliot Dixon, Jerome Kaino (South Africa only), Kieran Read, Ardie Savea, Liam Squire, Matt Todd.

Backs – Tawera Kerr-Barlow, TJ Perenara, Aaron Smith, Beauden Barrett, Damian McKenzie, Lima Sopoaga, Ryan Crotty, Malakai Fekitoa, Anton Lienert-Brown, George Moala, Israel Dagg, Waisake Naholo, Julian Savea, Ben Smith.

Photo: Hannah Peters/Getty Images

Post by