Sixteen teams registered at Rondebosch Boys’ High School on Sunday, with hosts Western Province afforded a second team and the Limpopo Blue Bulls adding the extra numbers to the 14 existing provincial unions set to compete at the tournament.

The pandemic prevented the hosting of the competition in 2020 and 2021, and Eastern Province and Griquas will kick off this year’s proceedings on Monday. Four matches will be played on the Tinkie Heyns Field, with the remaining eight teams running out on Tuesday.

Another highlight of the tournament is the selection of the SA Schools and SA Schools A sides at the conclusion of the event.

All eight match officials involved will be on debut at the tournament with one of them, Hanru van Rooyen, a former Craven Week player who represented the Leopards at the 2017 edition.

Fixtures for Monday, 4 July

10am: Eastern Province vs Griquas
11:30am: The Sharks High Schools vs Valke
1pm: Western Province XV vs Fin Global Boland
3:20pm: WP vs Border