Pumas stay in command

The Pumas stretched their unbeaten run, while the Sharks, Western Province and Golden Lions all secured easy victories in the Vodacom Cup.

Flyhalf JC Roos kicked six penalties and a conversion to steer the Pumas to a 25-16 win over the Griquas in Nelspruit, which gives them four from four. The visitors scored two tries through Gouws Prinsloo and Marnus Schoeman, but it wasn't enough to take revenge over the team that relegated them to the First Division of the Currie Cup last year.

The Sharks XV continued to lead the way in the South Section with a 27-10 win against the SWD Eagles in Durban. They outscored their visitors three tries to one, with flyhalf Tim Swiel converting all of them and nailing two penalty kicks. They are now on 17 points, one ahead of the Free State XV.

In East London, the Border Bulldogs just couldn't cope with Western Province, who triumphed 29-16 in an entertaining match. The hosts did well to stay in touch in the last quarter of the game as Province pushed to extend their lead.

In what was probably the match of this round, the Golden Lions survived a late surge from the Griffons to win 40-37 in Johannesburg. The Lions led 40-20, having crossed the line six times, but with 20 minutes to go the Griffons ran in three tries. The Lions sit second on the North Section log with 14 points, three behind the Pumas.

The Free State XV humiliated the EP Kings 31-3 in Cradock, scoring four tries. The bonus-point win shoved Free State up to second on the South Section log, relegating Western Province to third spot.. 


Golden Lions (40) – Tries: JR Esterhuizen, Lourens Erasmus, Ruaan Lerm (2), Sipha Qinisile, Thabo Mabuza. Conversions: Willie du Plessis (5).
Griffons (37) – Tries: Martin Sithole (2), Nicky Steyn (2), Willmar Groenewald. Conversions: Franna du Toit, Louis Strydom (2). Penalties: Strydom (2).

Leopards XV (26) – Tries: George Tossel, Gerhard Nortier, SJ Niemand. Conversion: Nortier. Penalty: Nortier. Drop goals: Nortier, Justin Botha.
Blue Bulls (32) – Tries: Reniel Hugo, Sampie Mastriet, Sidney Tobias, William Small-Smith. Conversions: Jesse Kriel (2), Joshua Stander. Penalty: Louis Fouché.

Valke (65) – Tries: Andrew van Wyk, Anrich Richter, Coert Cronjé (2), Jacques Verwey (3), Lukhanyo Am, Sandile Ngcobo (2), Vince Gwavu. Conversions: Angus Cleophas (2), Kyle Hendricks (3).
Limpopo Blue Bulls (14) – Tries: Koning Janse van Rensburg, Thulani Mathonsi. Conversions: Andy Huysamen (2).

Pumas (25) – Try: Corne Steenkamp. Conversion: JC Roos. Penalties: Roos (6).
Griquas (16) – Tries: Gouws Prinsloo, Marnus Schoeman. Penalties: Jacquin Jansen (2).


Sharks XV (27) – Tries: Monde Hadebe, Neil Maritz, Tim Swiel. Conversions: Swiel (3). Penalties: Swiel (2).
SWD (10) – Tries: Alwyn Bester. Conversion: Karlo Aspeling. Penalty: Aspeling.

Tusker Simba XV (19) – Tries: Davis Chenge, Dennis Osinde, Martin Omondi. Conversions: Darwin Makidza (2).
Boland Cavaliers (24) – Tries: Conway Pretorius (3), Eric Zana. Conversions: Zana (2).

Border Buldogs (16) – Try: Mario Noordman. Conversion: Jeff Taljard. Penalties: Taljard (2), Niell Jacobs.
Western Province (29) – Tries: Adrian Roberts, Devon Williams, JP Lewis, Rayn Smid (2). Conversions: Roberts, Gary van Aswegen.

EP Kings (3) – Penalty: George Whitehead.
Free State XV (31) –Tries: Nico Lee, Oupa Mohoje, Alvin Brandt (2). Conversions: Neil Marais (4). Penalties: Marais. 

Photo: Steve Haag/Gallo Images

Post by