Blitzboks scoop top award

The Blitzboks were named Team of the Year at the annual South African Sports Awards in Mangaung.

They edged out the Proteas Test team and the South African Lightweight Women's Rowing team, to claim the prestigious award after winning two Cup titles (in Dubai and Port Elizabeth) in the 2014-2015 World Series. They were also the first sevens team to qualify for the 2016 Olympics games. 

Blitzboks duo Werner Kok and Seabelo Senatla were also nominated for the World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year award, with Kok scooping that award earlier in November. 

Saru president Oregan Hoskins branded the team as fantastic ambassadors for the country, deserving of their prize.

'They always make an impression with their exemplary behaviour and sportsmanship wherever they go and deserve their award after some outstanding performances on the World Series circuit,' Hoskins said. 

Photo: Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images

Post by

Mariette Adams