Blues maintain unbeaten home run

The Waratahs' wretched record at Eden Park continued as they went down 21-13 to the Blues in Auckland on Friday.

Trailing 8-3 at the break following an error-strewn first-half performance, the Tahs were unable to break down the physical Blues defence as the home team notched up their fourth win of the season.

The Blues had led 8-0 through a Lolagi Visinia try and a Simon Hickey penalty before Bernard Foley got the Tahs on the board in the 33rd minute.

Francis Saili went over for the Blues second try in the 54th minute. Hickey converted to open up an 18-3 lead, which would prove insurmountable.

Jacques Potgieter crashed over after a sustained period of pressure to cut the deficit, before Foley and Hickey traded penalties as the clock ran down.

The Blues would hold out though to record another home victory, and the Waratahs headed home without any points.

Blues – Try: Lolagi Visinia, Francis Saili. Conversion: Hickey. Penalties: Simon Hickey (3).
Waratahs – Try: Jacques Potgieter. Conversion: Bernard Foley. Penalties: Bernard Foley (2).

Blues – 15 Charles Piutau, 14 Frank Halai, 13 Francis Saili, 12 Ma'a Nonu, 11 Lolagi Visinia, 10 Simon Hickey, 9 Bryn Hall, 8 Peter Saili, 7 Luke Braid, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Tom Donnelly, 4 Patrick Tuipulotu, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 Keven Mealamu (c), 1 Tony Woodcock.

Subs: 16 James Parsons, 17 Sam Prattley, 18 Angus Ta'avao, 19 Hayden Triggs, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Steven Luatua, 22 Ihaia West, 23 Pita Ahki.

Waratahs – 15 Israel Folau, 14 Cam Crawford, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Dave Dennis (c), 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Jacques Potgieter, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Will Skelton, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.

Subs: 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Pat McCutcheon, 20 Wycliff Palu, 21 Brendan McKibbin, 22 Jono Lance, 23 Matt Carraro.

Match centre

Photo: Phil Walter/Getty Images

Post by