Boks bag top Laureus award

The Springboks’ 2019 triumphs have rewarded them with the prestigious Team of the Year award at the 2020 Laureus World Sports Awards in Berlin on Monday.

It just keeps getting better and better for the Springboks.

After winning the Rugby Championship and World Cup in spectacular fashion last year, they understandably claimed World Rugby’s Team of the Year award in Japan.

And at a glittering Laureus World Sports Awards on Monday, they saw off revered opposition from the Champions League-winning Liverpool side, the USA women’s football team who won the women’s World Cup, six-time Formula One world champions Mercedes-AMG Petronas, the first Canadian team to win the NBA Championship, the Toronto Raptors, and two-time Fiba World Cup winners, Spain’s men’s basketball team.

*Follow us on our new Instagram journey by clicking here

The Springboks also won the category at the 2008 Laureus Awards, having triumphed at the 2007 World Cup the year prior.

ALSO READ: ‘With one main goal, we came together’

Photo: Getty Images